Privilege -reading week 7

Wow! When I think about all that is going on in our country right now, I am in awe of the issues.  The article “White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack” was eye-opening. I would say that it was not new but a realization about how white people have an advantage just by the color of their skin. When we are taught about racism it is always been about people of other colors than white and I think that has help to create the white advantage. We are unaware/unwilling to admit to the ways in which we have advantages based on our skin color. The list that was written within the article were things that I had just never considered-such as the  color of band-aids. I am appalled at the way our society has created this disadvantage but even more upset that I am inadvertently part of the problem. I am not blatantly racist but I am white and I take comfort in the things that give me an advantage over someone of color. I want to be part of the solution and not the problem. Where to begin is the question?

 

I found this video on facebook and thought it was fitting for this article.

I also read an article about animal cruelty called, “Animal Cruelty and Neglect Exposed.” The term cruelty appears to be the catch all term that encompasses all animal abuse, neglect, fighting, abandonment and veterinary practice without a license. The only Federal regulation that governs animals rights is the Animal Welfare Act. Each state has their own laws that vary in extent and consequences. The ASPCA launched a program called Cruelty Intervention Advocacy, this was meant to be used to help investigate cases that were just short of legally being animal cruelty. Their goal was to help educate people from being unintentional animal abusers by ways of neglect. This article also reiterated an earlier article I read about the connection between animal abuse and domestic violence. The article then goes on to say that law enforcement officers need to be trained to look for the signs of animal/child abuse when investigating a domestic violence case in an effort to reduce animal cruelty.

Leave a Reply

