Blogging- A new Literacy

This week’s reading “Academic Blogging as a New Literacy” was interesting and I think directly tied to the work we are doing in ILT5340. I gained some familiarity with some terms such as autoethnographic and hypertext.Our blogs are all hypertexts because we link to other material and each post is linked to our blog. It was interesting to read the annotations of varying comfort levels of public blogging and putting oneself “out there.” I was glad to see that I am not the only one that struggles with what to put on my blog and how to be appropriate with it for its intended viewers.

The way that the research was done for the text was intriguing. Using blogs as a text source was an interesting concept for me to read about. I see that blogs our the way in which we connect our public and private lives. We are sharing our story out in the world for others to build on by commenting and adding to the story. I concept that I struggled with was having those who comment be considered co-authors. This is hard to wrap my mind around.

When it comes to digital story telling I have a hard time stepping outside of it having to be a video production of sorts. I know this to be wrong of me but I continue to go back to videos. So seeing a blog as a digital story is quite intriguing.

My choice article focuses on my theme of animal rights/welfare and is titled, “What is Animal Welfare and why is it Important?” One key principle that governs animal welfare is called Five Freedoms and it is well known throughout the US and UK. The Five Freedoms are as follows:

Freedom from Hunger and Thirst-by ready access to fresh water and a diet to maintain full health and vigor.

Freedom from Discomfort-by providing an appropriate environment including shelter and a comfortable resting area.

Freedom from Pain, Injury, or Disease-by prevention or rapid diagnosis and treatment.

Freedom to Express Normal Behavior-by providing sufficient space, proper facilities and company of the animal’s own kind.

Freedom from Fear and Distress- by ensuring conditions and treatment which avoid mental suffering.

I feel like these are relatively easy to follow but yet there are places that still struggle with this concept. The public’s concern for animal safety has caused there to be multiple agency that service each animal industry. There are federal regulations and then there are local regulation on top of those that require an additional inspection of safety practices.

It is interesting to see the debate between animal rights and animal welfare issues. Animal rights activists are against having pets or keeping an animal in a zoo to maintain a species. They are for animals not being apart of anything from pets to research to even controlling populations and endangered animal safety.  They are too very different things and I think it is important to know the difference so that you can truly express which side you are on.animal-welfare-goldenmean-moderation-philosophy

Leave a Reply

