Remix Reading-A response

This week’s reading was yet again robust but easier to process with the use of hypothesis annotation. The chapter this week revolved around remixing and what all is a part of remixing in the sense of new literacies. Overall, the chapter made me think about the ways that we are remixing everyday. It also made me reflect on my classroom and how I am giving students the opportunity to remix. In a sense everything that we do is in a way a remix. Someone else equated it to synthesizing what we take in and creating our own. I like this comparison because synthesis is one of the standards that I have to teach and if I think about remix as synthesis I can show my students how they are already synthesizing as an introduction to how I want them to synthesize.

This week’s reading gave me a new working understanding of the word remix and how it applies to a variety of concepts and content. I also enjoyed it’s example to creative writing and that our students learn how to develop characters and plots for their own writing from reading and remixing other authors ideas and descriptions. There is so much that can be done in digital storytelling by using a mash up of music and video or even just a remix of a song to portray a new meaning or story.

The article I chose this week is called Learning, Teaching, and Scholarship in a Digital Age: Web 2.0 and Classroom Research: What Path Should We Take Now?  This article describes how the internet has changed and how schools are connected and using it. It describes Web 1.0 as read only just like Lankshear and Knobel did in the reading, it also goes on to call Web 2.0 Read and Write as well. It references chapter one of Lankshear and Knobel (2006) and how collaborative and relationship driven Web 2.0 has become in comparison to Web 1.0. The article also describes how students are using tools to remix media and comment on blogs and that their interactions do represent intellectual activity. The article takes the students from just being recipients of knowledge on the web to being creators of knowledge on the web! I think this is empowering at the the shift is being made and in some places has already been made. We need to let our students create and put out on the web for others to view and critique. There are too many people who are afraid of what that means if their child posts something they have created on the internet for others to view! I say let them and let’s see what happens! I would say if you are curious about how school connectivity has changed and what researchers questioned about implementing it you should read this article. It is how digital storytelling is made possible at the school level.

Leave a Reply

