“New” in New Literacies

1_3_the_big_bang_theory_overload-s500x233-391310

This is a good representation of how feel after reading this weeks required reading. Chapter one titled, ‘Sampling the “New” in New Literacies‘ is packed with more information than my brain was prepared to handle this week.

My largest take away from this chapter is that the definition of literacy is changing and in order to keep up you have to be part of the changes. Literacy is not just reading and writing anymore, it has depth and dimension. Literacy has become the term to label the expression of thoughts and ideas. This blog is a literacy, the meme at the top is a literacy, almost anything we come in contact with is a literacy. This is mind boggling to think about how diverse and widespread literacy is becoming.

There are many terms and jargon that I was unclear on as a read the chapter, primarily the use of “ethos stuff.” I continued to read in hope that something would stand out and give meaning to this term. The best understanding that I came to was related to the second mindset that the world is operating cyberspatially, as well as to Web 2.o and how relational the internet has become and is continuing to be. Ā Then the second mindset of “cyberspatial-postindustrial” was a bit to wrap my mind around and I don’t think I have a full understanding of the term yet. I used my decoding skills to determine that is was after the industrial revolution and that the world is primarily operating digitally through web-based platforms. I can only hope that was the meaning that was intended.

As a read through the chapter I began to see how the work and the platforms that we are using for this class are relevant and relate to the reading. It describes web annotation that we are doing with hypothesis and creating GIFs and other media for daily creates as well as DS106 Assignments. This article helped me to widen my view of digital literacies and how digital storytelling fits into that.

The other interest-based reading that I did was from the National Council of Teachers of English. The article was titled, Digital Storytelling: Reinventing Literature Circles, and I chose to read this to help me find a way to incorporate digital storytelling into my Elementary classroom even though the article is more focused on middle school. This article has given literature circles a new name: Digital Storytelling Circles (DSCs). I love that the author calls this a “mulimodal upgrade.” This article also touches on the need for it to digital storytelling to collaborative as well as a production that was in the assigned reading.

Digital storytelling has many practical applications in the classroom and I think it will add the engagement that my lit circles have previously lacked over the years. I like that this article shared way for teachers to used digital storytelling as a way of teaching and not just the students creating. The author also provides a set of roles for the students to divide and use as they work collaboratively to produce a story. This was a great resource for teachers trying to implement digital storytelling in the classroom, we many tools to help students through each step.

Leave a Reply

