Discussing El Deafo with a student

I41v58xl9-ll-_sx332_bo1204203200_ chose to read El Deafo with a student in my class and have a discussion after reading the book. I gave the student 3 books to choose from and she chose El Deafo. In the interview I ask her why she chose this book out of the three. I chose to read with this student because she is always reading and will pick a random book off the shelf and check it out and read it. I wanted to see what she thought of this book and what she actually gets out of the books she reads. She is an ELL and considered a “bubble” kid because she is right on the edge of grade-level depending on the test/task at hand.

Here is her interview: El Deafo Interview

Leave a Reply

